Levittown Ford parts

Talk about anything related to your Escape, Mariner, Tribute, Maverick!

Levittown Ford parts

Postby john b - November 28th, 2016, 12:27 am

I would like to prevent others from having the same experience i did buying parts through the internet. As some of you may know, Ford is having a quality control problem with Motorcraft alternators. I don't know how extensive the problem is, but it affects the alternators that fit my 20005 Escape and presumably other years as well.

I purchased an alternator from Levittown Ford, an online parts source I have used and had respectable service from for many years. I installed it myself since I am a retired mechanic and as many of you know it is a frustrating and time consuming job. After installing it the output was erratic. Being older and retired I couldn't bring myself to do a second replacement because it is a time consuming job due the time and effort involved. I brought my Escspe to A-Z Auro Repair, a very respected shop in my Chicagoland neighborhood. They diagnosed the problem as a defective alternator and replaced it with an identical Motorcraft unit from their Ford parts source. This alternator was also defective. A-Z filed a claim with their source for labor and replaced that alternator again. Defective Motorcraft alternators are a well known problem to Ford and there is a process to file a claim for labor involved for replacement of a defective part. Levittown Ford refuses to offer anything but condolences. I am now out about $800 for the diagnosis and replacement of the alternator due to the defective one I received from Levittown. Levittown Ford refuses to stand behind their products and do the right thing for this customer of many years. They are responsive to inquires and purchases provided rverything goes right, but they have no integrity when they sell a defective part. This is the response I got from Levittown Ford;

Hello John,